College Football 2013: Sun Belt to add four new members

3/26/13 in NCAAF   |   Tyler_Waddell   |   426 respect

The Sun Belt Conference – an active participant of the college football realignment craze – is expected to introduce four new members for 2014 by the end of the week.Blog Photo - College Football 2013: Sun Belt to add four new members

Division 1-AA programs Georgia Southern and Appalachian State will join in all sports, while Idaho and New Mexico State will be football only, reports Avinash Kunnath of SB Nation.

Florida Atlantic, North Texas and Middle Tennessee are departing for Conference USA this July, leaving a few vacant spots open in the Sun Belt and inclining President Duane Nellis to send out some invitations.

Both Idaho and New Mexico State are homeless after the collapse of the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) and are playing as independents in 2013.

The four new schools will join a competitive crowd: Arkansas State, Georgia State, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, South Alabama, Texas State, Troy and Western Kentucky.

Follow @Tyler_Waddell on Twitter
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview