NCAAF, Ndamukong Suh

If The Heisman Trophy Was Not Ruined.. By the Voters. Then Who'd Win?

11/19/09 in NCAAF   |   elevenbravo138again   |   1163 respect

I have been watching winners of Heisman since 1972 and there are years when they clearly nailed it and and then there's years like Gino Torretta's year.  This year should be a wide-open think outside the box year.  A year when you could pick a defensive player [cough-Ndamukong Suh cough] The Winneror a player from a non-prestige program: Freddie Barnes, Kellen Moore, Brandon West, Case Keenum, Ryan Mathews.  Hey guess what there's no rule against a FCS or Division II player winning, how about Dominic Randolph or Joique Bell?

I don't dislike Tim Tebow, but if he wins again after the year he's had I will lose a great deal of my remaining respect for the Heisman Trophy selection process.  I know comfort is easy and change is hard but what if... what if the award went to the player who had the best year, regardless of team record, the number of times he'd been on national TV, position played, or level of football?  What if?  They may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one.  Am I?
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview