Johnny Manziel wins 2012 Heisman Trophy

12/8/12 in NCAAF   |   Pat   |   5234 respect

Dec 8, 2012; New York, NY, USA; Texas A&M Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel poses for a photo with the Heisman Trophy during a press conference before the announcement of the 2012 Heisman Trophy winner at the Marriott Marquis in downtown New York City.  Mandatory Credit: Jerry Lai-USA TODAY SportsFor the first time in Heisman Trophy history, a freshman has taken home college football's highest honor, as Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel won it tonight.

Manziel won the award over fellow finalists Notre Dame LB Manti Te'o and Kansas State QB Collin Klein.

A huge reason Manziel won the Heisman was the Aggies' impressive win over then-no. 1 Alabama, in which 'Johnny Football' passed for 253 yards and 2 TD, and also rushed for 92 yards.

Manziel received 474 first place votes, and 2,029 points overall. Te'o finished 2nd with 321 first place votes and 1,706 points, and Klein was a distant 3rd. USC WR Marqise Lee and Ohio State QB Braxton Miller finished 4th and 5th, respectively.

Manziel's freshman year was one for the ages, with 24 passing TD against 8 INT, as well as 1181 rushing yards and 19 rushing touchdowns.

Congrats to Johnny Manziel for a great season and an extremely well-deserved Heisman Trophy.
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview