Andrew Luck wins Walter Camp award

Heisman preview? Andrew Luck takes home Walter Camp, Maxwell awards

12/8/11 in NCAAF   |   Dan_B   |   1067 respect

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck was named the Walter Camp Foundation's college football player of the year today. The award is voted on by coaches and sports information directors from the 120 Football Bowl Subdivision teams.

Also nominated for the award were Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, Alabama running back Trent Richardson, Houston quarterback Case Keenum and LSU defensive back Tyrann Mathieu.  

Luck, the presumptive top pick in next April's NFL draft had a magnificent season for the Cardinal, leading them to a 11-1 regular season and their second consecutive BCS bowl berth. Luck threw for more than 3,100 yards and 35 TDs.

Luck is also a finalist for another player of the year award--the Heisman Trophy. Griffin, Richardson, Mathieu and Wisconsin running back Montee Ball are the other finalist for college football's most prestigious award, which will be handed out on Saturday.

This was the 45th Walter Camp award. Luck was a finalist for the award last year, which went to Auburn quarterback Cam Newton. 

In other awards Thursday night, Luck took home the Maxwell Award as the nation's top player. Griffin won the Davey O'Brien Award as the country's top quarterback. Mathieu won the Chuck Bednarik Award as the best defensive player and Richardson won the Doak Walker Award as the top running back. Oklahoma State wide receiver Justin Blackmon was the Biletnikoff winner as the nation's best wideout. 
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview

12/9/11   |   SamuelWhale   |   589 respect

cant wait to see him in the league