College Football 2012: College Football Awards Distributed

College Football Awards Distributed

12/7/12 in NCAAF   |   Tyler_Waddell   |   426 respect

With the exception of the Heisman Trophy – which will be distributed this Saturday night – and two others, all College Football Awards have been handed out to this year’s top players and coaches.Blog Photo - College Football 2012: College Football Awards Distributed

This includes Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly, who squeaked by Stanford’s David Shaw for The Home Depot Award (Coach of the Year).  To everyone’s surprise, the Irish are 12-0 and will compete in the BCS National Championship – so there’s really no questioning what Kelly has been able to achieve in such short time.

Johnny Manziel came away with the Davey O’Brien Award (Best QB), while Montee Ball took the Doak Walker Award (Best RB) and Marqise Lee grabbed the Fred Biletnikoff Award (Best WR). All are very deserving after outstanding seasons.

Are there any snubs? Who do you think deserves honorary mention? Place your thoughts in the comment box below.

Maxwell Award (Outstanding Player)                                    The Home Depot Award (Coach of the Year)
Manti Te’o, Notre Dame                                                                                                   Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year)                                  Doak Walker Award (Best Running Back)
Manti Te’o, Notre Dame                                                                                                    Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Davey O’Brien Award (Best Quarterback)                     Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Best Sr. QB)
Johnny Manziel, QB                                                                                                        Collin Klein, Kansas State

Fred Biletnikoff Award (Best Wide Receiver)                                    John Mackey Award (Best Tight End)
Marqise Lee, USC                                                                                                               Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame

Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman)                             Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award (Best Lineman)
Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M                                                                                                   Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

Rimington Trophy (Best Center)                             Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year)
Barrett Jones, Alabama                                                                                                      Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

Bronko Nagurki Award (Defensive Player of the Year)                   Dick Butkis Award (Best Linebacker)
Manti Te’o, Notre Dame                                                                                                      Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defensive Back)                                         Lou Groza Award (Best Place-Kicker)
Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State                                                                                       Cairo Santos, Tulane

Ray Guy Award (Best Punter)                                                      Ted Hendricks Award (Best Defensive End)
Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech                                                                            Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

Campbell Trophy (Top-scholar Athlete)                              Frank Broyles Award (Asst. Coach of the Year)
Barrett Jones, Alabama                                                                                                       Bob Diaco, Notre Dame

Disney Spirit Award (Most Inspirational Team or Player)   Paul Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player)
Nate Boyer, Texas

Lotti IMPACT Trophy (Outstading Defensive Player)
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview

12/7/12   |   Jess   |   35138 respect

My husband is going to be thrilled...looks like Manti cleaned house.