College Football 2013: C-USA divisions finalized

C-USA's new-look divisions finalized

1/24/13 in NCAAF   |   Tyler_Waddell   |   426 respect

Conference USA commissioner Britton Banowsky welcomed Middle Tennessee and Florida Atlantic from the Sun Belt on Wednesday, finalizing the conference's new structure.

There are 14 schools currently set to play in 2013, with a few more changes to take place between '14-15.

East Division West Division
East Carolina (leaves for Big East in '14) Louisiana Tech
Florida Atlantic North Texas
Florida International Rice
Marshall Tulane (leaves for Big East in ('14)              
Middle Tennessee Tulsa
Southern Miss UTEP
UAB UT-San Antonio
Old Dominion (joins in 2014) Charlotte (joins in 2015)

"Our deal is to be the conference that really represents the next generation of great programs," Banowsky said, via CBS Sports. "We target large markets, generally. We target growth markets. We find universities that have their best ahead of them in terms of potential, that have invested in facilities, that are gearing up and getting ready to go, and then we give them a stage and a platform to participate."

Conference USA lost Houston, Memphis, SMU and Central Florida — with the looming departures of East Carolina and Tulane forthcoming — to the Big East, but replaced them with FAU, FIU, Louisiana Tech and Middle Tennessee.

Blog Photo - College Football 2013: C-USA divisions finalized

Follow @Tyler_Waddell on Twitter
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview