You make the call: Was Virginia Tech robbed... twice?
Out of all the bowl games we've seen this season, this play was one of the most spectacular ones out there. Unfortunately for Virginia Tech, it was ruled an incompletion.
At first glance, I honestly thought he was out of bounds. After further review, it looked pretty clear that his elbow landed in the end zone before he slid out of bounds.
Upon further further review, the nose of the ball appeared to hit the ground as he landed, ever so slightly moving the ball. By rule, that makes it an incompletion. Check out this picture for a closer look:
So... did Virginia Tech get robbed? Nope... at least not on that play. The refs made the right call, and it's unfortunate that Virginia Tech kicker Justin Myer couldn't get the job done.
The thing is... they might have gotten robbed later, when Michigan kicker Brendan Gibbons false started before kicking the game winning field goal. Take a look:
What do you think about each of these plays? Should Danny Coale's divineg catch have been ruled a touchdown? Should the field goal have been overturned and pushed back 5 yards? Or were both of them the right call? What do you think?
Hat tip to: [Dr. Saturday]