Gold Glove awards announced

The Gold Gloves have been handed out, but were they well-deserved?

10/30/13 in MLB   |   Pat   |   5232 respect

Blog Photo - Gold Glove awards announced

The 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove awards were announced, and there are quite a few familiar faces, like Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina and Royals outfielder Alex Gordon.

There were also eight first-time winners, including Rockies rookie 3B Nolan Arenado.
POS American League National League
P R.A. Dickey, Blue Jays Adam Wainwright, Cardinals
C Salvador Perez, Royals Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B Eric Hosmer, Royals Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
2B Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox Brandon Phillips, Reds
3B Manny Machado, Orioles Nolan Arenado, Rockies
SS J.J. Hardy, Orioles Andrelton Simmons, Braves
LF Alex Gordon, Royals Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
CF Adam Jones, Orioles Carlos Gomez, Brewers
RF Shane Victorino, Red Sox Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks

For the most part, this was a pretty solid year for Gold Glove awards. There are a few players (Phillips, Jones) whose candidacy is up for debate, but these were some pretty solid selections, overall.

And I realize Wainwright and Molina are outstanding defensive players, but I still can't help but think of this when I see their names on the list of Gold Glove winners:

Blog Photo - Gold Glove awards announced
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview