Hall of Fame Expansion Era ballot announced

Legendary managers lead Hall of Fame Expansion Era ballot

11/9/13 in MLB   |   Eric_   |   7716 respect

Blog Photo - Hall of Fame Expansion Era ballot announcedThis year's Hall of Fame induction ceremony was embarrassing, and none of the inductees had been alive for over 60 years. Luckily for Cooperstown, the 2014 induction is not going to have problem, even given the mindful that is the BBWAA ballot. That's because the Veterans Committee "Expansion Era" ballot was released this week, and it contains the three most influential managers of the last two decades: Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa, and Joe Torre.

All three have impeccable credentials. Cox is 4th all-time in wins and won 14 straight division titles and 1 World Series with the Braves. La Russa is 3rd all-time in wins and won three championships, once with the A's and twice with the Cardinals, while exerting significant influence in the game, particularly in bullpen management. Torre (who has a case for induction as a player alone) of course won 4  World Series with the Yankees in a 5 year span from 1996-2000. Each person on this ballot needs to receive the votes of 12 of the 16 on the panel, and all three skippers should receive that easily and be elected.

The other three non-players on this ballot have real cases of their own, but also plenty of controversy. The other manger in this group is brilliant but combustable Billy Martin, who won games but pissed everyone off on the way. Also appearing is titanic Yankees owner George Steinbrenner and all that entails, both good and bad. Finally, there is former Players Association leader Marvin Miller. I wrote about Miller and his contributions to the game after he died last year. I, among many others, feel Miller should've been inducted long ago, but not surprisingly, a panel with executives included found ways to deny him while he was alive.

There are six players on the ballot as well: Dave Concepcion, Dave Parker, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Ted Simmons, and Dan Quisenberry. It's unlikely that any of these players receive enough votes, although Concepcion and John could get close.

The 16 who will vote on these men are Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tommy Lasorda, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Phil Niekro, and Frank Robinson; executives Paul Beeston, Andy MacPhail, Dave Montgomery, and Jerry Reinsdorf; and media members Steve Hirdt, Bruce Jenkins, Jim Reeves, and Jack O'Connell.
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview