Kurt Busch Wins the 2010 All Star Race

Kyle and Kurt Busch have distinctly different endings to All Star Race

5/23/10 in NASCAR   |   Debi_L   |   11868 respect

While Kurt Busch and his crew made "all the right moves" in the 10 minute break of the All Star Race, younger brother Kyle ended up sitting in the number 11 hauler waiting for Denny Hamlin.

The Showdown saw Martin Truex Jr. and Greg Biffle come to the finish line first and second and move on to the All Star Race.  Carl Edwards was the winner of the fan vote, but the jeers were almost louder than the cheers when he was introduced.

Carl wasn't much of a factor in the race, however, which saw Jimmie Johnson, Denny Hamlin, Joey Logano and the Busch brothers all take turns up front.  The race was divided into a series of segments again this year, but it was the ten minute interval just before the last segment that made the difference for Kurt.  He'd hit the wall earlier on, but his crew was able to make the repairs and get him out on the track up hear the front.

As is typical in NASCAR races lately, a series of late race cautions, the last one involving Jimmie Johnson, resulted in two attempts at a green/white/checkers finish.  And as also seems normal lately, Denny Hamlin is involved in the headlines, firstly for his involvement in Kyle Busch's wreck, and secondly in Jimmie Johnson's detour through the grass.

The 600 next weekend will no doubt be very entertaining.
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview