Camby True -- Marcus Camby makes full court shot, gets no points
The red glare of the NBA clock buzzer, however, was not so forgiving. The perfectly executed full court shot netted Camby and the Rockets no points. Referees ruled that the ball had not left Camby's right hand prior to the buzzer sounding.
Camby's mechanically sound, one-handed, full court lob is tremendous fun to watch over and over, though. Have at it, people.
You'll forgive me for saying this, but Rockets-Kings last night was, in fact, a significant NBA game. The Rockets weren't awarded that full court basket, but they were awarded the win after the Kings took them to overtime. This matters, because the win places Houston as the current No. 8 seed in the Western Conference playoff race
The Rockets have the same record as the Denver Nuggets, but Houston owns the tiebreaker. The Rockets have the better record in the teams' head-to-head match ups. So if the season ended today, Hopuston would earn the right to get presumably beaten in the first round, presumably by the Oklahoma City Thunder.
Several of you perhaps had the same reaction. "Marcus Camby is still in the NBA?" He is, and the 38-year-old was recently traded to the Rockets for Hasheem Thabeet and Jonny Flynn.
Camby played nearly 21 minutes in the game, and ended up finishing with two points. He has not yet commented on the shot via his Twitter account.