NFL awards led by Peyton Manning's 5th MVP award

2/2/14 in NFL   |   Eric_   |   7716 respect

Blog Photo - NFL awards led by Peyton Manning's 5th MVP awardLast night the NFL handed out its hardware for the season, on a made-for-TV program of course. To the surprise of no one, Peyton Manning won the MVP award for a record fifth time. He received 49 out of 50 possible votes. Former NFL QB Jim Miller was the dissenting vote, picking Tom Brady instead. Also not surprisingly, Manning was also named Offensive Player of the Year.

On the other side of the ball, Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly won Defensive Player of the Year. Kuechly was seemingly everywhere as the heart and soul of an excellent Carolina defense.

The Panthers also took home the Coach of the Year award, specifically Ron Rivera. Good old Riverboat Ron beat out Andy Reid, Pete Carroll, Bill Belichick, and Chip Kelly.

Taking home Rookie of the Year honors were running back Eddie Lacy of the Packers for Offense, and defensive tackle Sheldon Richardson of the Jets for Defense.

Comeback Player of the Year went to Phillip Rivers, while Charles Tillman of the Bears was named as the Walter Payton Man of the Year.
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview