After reviewing the play (which was not called a penalty on the field), the NFL has confirmed that Welker's hit on Talib was completely legal. If you have not seen the play yet, here is a good look:
As I stated to in another article a few days ago, I was never buying into Belichick's complaint. In order for the play to have been called illegal, Welker would have had to do one of several things. He could have hit Talib before the ball reached the receiver, hit Talib above the shoulders, or deliberately taken out Talib's knees - none of those things happened on the play. Yes, Welker's hit and the ball hitting the receiver was a bang-bang play, but the NFL has ruled that Welker timed the hit perfectly.
This is really just a update on the incident. The NFL has ruled that Belichick was wrong, and the referees were right. Now we can all move on.