OU Sooner's Sam Bradford wins O'Brien Award as nation's top quarterback

By Jake Trotter
Published: December 11, 2008

Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford talks to reporters after winning the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award given to the nation's best quarterback during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards ceremony in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., Thursday, Dec. 11, 2008. (AP Photo/Phelan M. Ebenhack)

Sam Bradford took home his first piece of hardware Thursday night.

Bradford won the Davey O’Brien Award, which goes to college football’s quarterback of the year.

The award was announced during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards.

Bradford threw for more than 4,000 yards and 48 touchdowns.

The other O’Brien finalists were TexasColt McCoy and Texas Tech’s Graham Harrell.

Former OU quarterback Jason White won the O’Brien in 2003 and 2004.