Pro-Bowl votes hit new high with Peyton Manning topping the list

11/21/13 in NFL   |   KurtKingsley   |   1858 respect

Blog Photo - Pro-Bowl votes hit new high with Peyton Manning topping the listPeyton Manning’s blazing hot form has made him NFL’s top-10 Pro Bowl vote-getter with a massive lead over second-placed Drew Brees. The Denver Broncos quarterback acquired 654, 309 votes in comparison 540, 036 of Saints quarterback Brees.
Since the voting hasn’t ended yet a lot of major changes can be expected. Changes at the third, fourth and fifth spot are quite likely. Kansas City Chiefs running back Jamaal Charles is standing at 453, 761, Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson has 449, 346 votes and Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch has acquired 443, 533 votes.
The voting for the 2014 Pro Bowl will continue on the internet till 6 p.m. ET December 26, only three days before the much-awaited Week 17. This year NFL’s fan voting is officially presented by McDonald’s. Players for the Pro Bowl will be announced on December 27.
NFL’s maiden Pro Bowl Draft will be televised on the NFL Network ahead of the week in which the games will be played. The 2014 Pro Bowl is scheduled for January 2014. It will be aired live on NBC 7:00 p.m. ET. The venue of the Pro Bowl is the Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.
Since 1971, NFL’s Pro Bowl has been a competition between AFC and NFC. This year NFL decided to change the format by conducting its first “unconferenced” Pro Bowl, where players will be picked up without regard to their AFC or NFC affiliation. Players will be picked up with respect to votes from fans, coaches and players. This means players will be picked up regardless of how many are from AFC or NFC teams.
Players for the Pro Bowl are drafted through the votes of fans, players and coaches. A total of 88 All-Star players will be picked up for the Pro Bowl Draft, with fans, players and coaches contributing one-third towards the main list of players.
NFL is the first and only sports league that offers fans to cast online votes for the All-Stars, a voting system that start back in 1995. Players and coaches will cast their votes between the dates of December 23-26.
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview