MLB says Melky Cabrera can have his batting title and Melk it for all its worth
Major League Baseball appears inclined to let Cabrera have the NL batting title, though his suspension will still be in effect and his guilt quite obvious. Heck, they'll even give Cabrera one fictional at-bat to help him reach the required 502 plate appearances to win the batting title.
MLB Commissioner Bud Selig said today in an interview with the YES Network that MLB will not interfere with Melky Cabrera winning the NL batting title. Cabrera continues to lead the National League in batting average, despite that he is stone cold suspended.
"We'll see how it all plays out," commissioner Selig said Wednesday, showing his trademark decisiveness. "We generally don't interfere in that process. We'll take a look at it at the end of the year."
When you "take a look at it at the end of the year", Commissioner Selig, we suggest you do not consult Melky Cabrera's fake web site for guidance.
Baseball could easily deny Cabrera the title, because Cabrera is one plate appearance short of the required 502. But an obscure "Tony Gwynn Rule" allows for batters to be awarded extra, fictional at-bats to meet minimum requirements, as long as these at-bats are counted as hitless.
In another bizarre statistical anomaly to this year's batting crown race, it currently appears that both the AL and NL batting titles could both be won by guys named Cabrera. Melky and Miguel Cabrera are not related.