Tiger Woods assessed 2-shot penalty, is not disqualified from Masters

Tiger escapes disqualification, is given a 2-shot penalty for his bad drop on the 15th

4/13/13 in Golf   |   Pat   |   5234 respect

Apr 12, 2013; Augusta, GA, USA; Tiger Woods takes a drop on the 15th hole during the second round of the 2013 The Masters golf tournament at Augusta National Golf Club.  Mandatory Credit: Michael Madrid-USA TODAY SportsThere were whispers that he could be disqualified from the Masters, but Tiger Woods ended up receiving a 2-stroke penalty after taking an illegal drop on the 15th hole yesterday.

Woods' 3rd shot rolled off the green into a water hazard on the 15th, and he had several options. He could play the ball from a designated drop area, he could drop it anywhere behind the point where it entered the water in a straight line from the hole, or he could drop a ball at the spot where he originally hit from.

He chose the third option, but later admitted to dropping the ball 2 yards behind his original lie, because he wanted to make sure the ball landed short of the flag.

The rule states that a player must drop the ball "as nearly as possible" to the original spot, and Woods clearly admitted to dropping the ball two yards away, and gave clear reasoning.

Initially, the folks at Augusta didn't penalize him. Therefore, he won't be disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.

Some folks are claiming that Tiger is getting preferential treatment, since they believe most players would have gotten DQ'd. Honestly, they're probably right.

But Tiger is Tiger, and he's by far the biggest draw in the PGA. It pays to be the man.
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview

4/13/13   |   Scott   |   54600 respect

So the 14 year old kid gets a 1 stroke penalty for something so lame as not playing fast enough while Tiger admittedly cheats and only gets a 2 stroke penalty? 

It certainly does pay to be the man