NCAA Hockey, Scores

BC wins Beanpot Tournament Thriller

2/12/08 in NCAA Hockey   |   rootman54   |   respect

It took two weeks and two overtime games, but the Boston College Eagles have come out on top to win the 56th annual Beanpot Tournament. 
Last night, the championship game was played between Harvard and of course Boston College. In one of the most exciting games of the year, the two teams traded the lead back and forth. BC opened it up with a goal from Brian Gibbons only 4 minutes in. Harvard, however, charged back within the next eight minutes to take a 2-1 lead on goals by Mike Taylor and Matt McCollem which they kept heading into the second period. There, Brian Gibbons added another goal and teammate Nick Petrecki scored his first goal of the year to give BC a 3-2 lead going into the third.

That’s when all the fireworks began to happen. Harvard’s Doug Rogers tied it up on the powerplay only to see BC come back with two more goals of their own. Jon Pelle scored midway through the third for the Harvard Crimson as Mike Taylor netted his second goal late in the third to tie it up. In overtime, it took only 7:07 minutes as Nick Petrecki scored his second goal of the game and second on the season to give Boston College a thrilling 6-5 victory. Here is a video with full highlights. Enjoy…

Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview