Philip Lutzenkirchen Of Lassiter Trojans Catch And Lateral For Touchdown
HS Basketball

Probably The Coolest Play You'll See This Week

11/4/08 in HS Basketball   |   100%InjuryRate   |   1283 respect

This is a play from a recent high school game that, quite frankly, is pretty damn awesome (sorry about the horrendous soundtrack). The tight end of the Lassiter Trojans, one Philip Lutzenkirchen, found himself in the back of the end zone on a pass play but was heading out of bounds when he caught the ball, so he had to make a quick decision. 



Now, you're probably wondering, is that even allowed? Well, as far as I know, you're not allowed to tip a ball to a teammate in football, but if you have clear possession of a ball, you can indeed lateral it back to a player on your team, even if you're up in the air floating out of bounds.

Now, if you think that play was nutty, take a look at this one by Karlos Dansby from the 2001 Peach Bowl. Watch as he gets an interception without his feet ever touching the ground while he has possession of the ball. How is that possible? Just watch the video.



I tell you what, those are two of the craziest plays I have ever seen, and for any people still playing football competitively out there, remember these plays. They could one day save your butt at a critical juncture in a game.

[Lassiter video from Hot Clicks]
Notify me by email about comments that follow mine. Preview

11/10/08   |   mm8272

 In reading the rule book, the term "tip" is not defined, but "batting" the ball is defined as "intentionally striking it or intentionally changing its direction with the hands or arms" (Rule 2-10-3). According to Rule 9-4-1-a, "While a pass is in flight, any player eligible to touch the ball may bat it in any direction," though Rule 9-4-2 provides an exception that "A backward pass in flight shall not be batted forward by the passing team in an attempt to gain yardage." The other applicable rule is 2-2-7-c which says "To catch, intercept or recover a ball, a player who leaves his feet to make a catch, interception or recovery must have the ball firmly in his possession when he first returns to the ground inbounds with any part of his body..." Finally, Approved Ruling (A.R.) 7-3-6-X cites all of these rules with this scenario: "While airborne, eligible receiver A89 touches a forward pass when he propels it toward: (a) eligible receiver A80, who catches the pass; or (b) B27, who intercepts the pass. RULING: Legal play, and the ball remains live in both (a) and (b). A89 has batted a forward pass (Rules 2-2-7, 2-10-3, and 9-4-1-a)." So, based on all of that, I think the officials in the Peach Bowl got it wrong. B11 never actually caught the ball, he only batted it to B54, and by rule he is allowed to bat it in any direction. B54 officially intercepted the pass by taking possession of the ball while in contact with the ground inbounds, and there should have been no foul on the play.

11/4/08   |   RichmondSpider

Things that make you go hummmmm...

11/4/08   |   100%InjuryRate   |   1283 respect

thevandal1 wrote:
I think its legal. The only thing I don't understand on the Aub play is how can you have an illegal forward pass when you haven't gotten a foot down to establish possession of the ball? If you haven't established possession, it should only be a tip and not an illegal pass in my opinion.

An interesting point. The problem though is how can you call it a tip when the guy clearly had control of the ball. I think he just happened to discover a bizarre loophole in the rules of football.

11/4/08   |   thevandal1   |   71 respect

I think its legal. The only thing I don't understand on the Aub play is how can you have an illegal forward pass when you haven't gotten a foot down to establish possession of the ball? If you haven't established possession, it should only be a tip and not an illegal pass in my opinion.