The end of the Steelers' 13-9 win over the Ravens had a bit of controversy, as Santonio Holmes scored the winning touchdown on this play. Holmes made the catch on 3rd and goal and both of his feet were in the end zone, but it appeared as though the ball never actually crossed the goal line.
If someone makes a catch and goes out of bounds, the catch is good, no matter where the ball is when it is caught. As long as the player's feet are in bounds, the ball is considered in bounds as well. So is that how it works?
But if someone's feet aren't in the end zone but the ball crosses the plane, then it's a TD. So does it work similarly, where if the ball DOESN'T cross the plane, then it's not a TD?
The referees took it to instant replay, and these were his exact words:
What's your take on it?